Walk of Recognition

The Walk of Recognition inductees are individuals and organizations who have demonstrated a significant long-term  commitment to serving the interest of Boca Raton and enriching the lives of its residents. Since its inception in 1997, these deserving residents have received their "stars" for this prestigious community award.

A cornerstone of the community and supporter of numerous organizations in the area, Marta Batmasian originally conceived of the  award, which has become an annual community program organized and maintained by the Boca Raton Historical Society and The Schmidt Boca Raton History Museum. An independent panel of judges reviews each application and selects two or three outstanding community leaders. Each of the recipients will have their names carved into a black granite star and  placed on the Walk of Recognition monument at Royal Palm Place.

Application for Nominations are due no later than September 19th, 2022.

Questions about Walk of Recognition? Contact us by sending an email to office@bocahistory.org.

Annual Walk of Recognition Ceremony and Reception

Inductees 2022:  Steven Abrams ~ Arline and John McNally ~ Lynn Russell 
Special Preservation Award: the Addison

Committee Chairs: Marta Batmasian, Joyce DeVita

Date: Tuesday, November 29, 2022

Time: 6:00 PM 

Location: the Addison, 2 East Camino Real, Boca Raton

Tickets: $100 


The Walk of Recognition inductees over the years

Steven Abrams
Arline and John McNally
Lynn Russell 
the Addison

George S. Brown, Jr.
Robert K. Rollins, Jr.
Edith Stein
George Snow Scholarship Fund
Boca Ballet Theatre
Terry Fedele
Jay Van Vechten
Arthur Adler
Kerry B. Koen
Florida Atlantic University
George E. Barbar
Dr. Merrilee Middleton
Dr. Dick Reed
Rita Thrasher
Boca Raton Museum of Art 
Lynn University
Morgan Pressel Bush
Dr. Jospeh "Jody" Forstot
James A. Rutherford
Alan Alford
Bob Campbell
Boca Raton Regional Hospital
Wendy Larsen
Anne & Louis Green
Myra Singer
Charlie L. Siemon    
Connie Siskowski
Derek Vander Ploeg
Susan Whelchel
Mike Arts
Barbara & Irving Gutin
Sandra Greenblatt
Howard McCall
Holli Rockwell
Anne Vegso 
Alyce E. Erickson
Mary & Harold Perper
Jamie S. Snyder
Flossy Keesely
Albert Travasos
Michael Hall
Marjorie O'Sullivan
Martin Stein
Reverend Henry Willis, Jr.
Ron & Kathy Assaf
Millicent Duvall
Mary Harrison
Elaine Wold
Norman Rales
Harvey and Phyllis Sandler
Yvonne Boice
Robert Hagerty
Richard & Barbara Schmidt
Honorable Jeffrey A.Winikoff
Msgr. John R. McMahon
Madelyn Savarick
Joanne Weppner
Dr. Donald Curl
Ruth McGoldrick
John Shuff
Margaret Mary Schuff
Patricia Thomas
Peter Blum
Belle Deitch
John Patrick "Pat" Lynch
Joan Wargo
Lois Dolphus Martin
S. Bruce McDonald
J.C. Mitchell
Mildred O'Connell
Fran Reich
David C. Ashe
Robert C. & Helen M. Babione
Gordon J. Gilbert
Christine E. Lynn
June A. Michel
Frances Cohen
Thomas Farrar Fleming, Jr.
Rita Hobbs
Richard & Carole Siemens
Rabbi Merle Singer
Myrtle Butts Fleming
Charles Marqusee
Peg McCall
Rolland & Lullis Ritter
Charles & Dorothy Schmidt
George & Susan Snow
Maestro Mark Azzolina
Countess Henrietta de Hoernle
Gloria Drummond
Florence Fuller
Eugene Lynn
Jan McArt
Hildegarde Schine
Jean Spence
John Weir